FILIPINO FISH BALL SURPRISE

After months of begging to make my own version of Filipino Fish Ball, I felt deep pity for my husband and so, I finally granted his request last night. “Yeah right!,” this might be Rowel’s reply after reading my opening salvo. I hope not, otherwise, I am going to tell him, “AMALAYER (I’m a liar)?”😛 I just love teasing him because he is the craziest!😀

Anyway, since most of my readers are always asking me for recipes, I am sharing with you how I made the fishballs I served for my love’s dinner last night:

Ingredients and Cooking Process:

(It’s  just an experiment so, the ingredients I put in were just estimates…)

STEAMED FISH

 Fish Fillets  (preferably Tuna, Salmon, Mackerel Cad, Tilapia)

Coriander

Lemon

Orange Juice

Ginger (jullienned)

Salt and Pepper

  1. Slice the lemon  in about half an inch thick crosswise. Then, arrange them in a cooking pot.
  2.  Season the fish fillets with salt and pepper and put them on top of the lemon slices.
  3. Add the julienned ginger and three big pieces of fresh coriander.
  4. Pour about half a cup of orange juice into the pan and cook the fish over medium to high heat.
  5.  Once it’s cooked, drain and flake the fish.

 THE BALLS

Flaked fish

spring onion

 medium size onion

 clove Garlic

  Shredded carrot

 Bell Pepper

Celery

flour

yeast

egg

cheddar or cream cheese

  1. Except for the fish, flour, yeast and cheese; put all the ingredients in a blender or food chopper/processor to ensure they are minced.
  2. Pour the minced ingredients in a bowl; then, add the flaked fish, flour, egg and yeast. I like my balls kind of under-seasoned, so I don’t normally add more salt – just pepper.
  3. Mix everything well.
  4. Out of the mixture, form pingpong-size  balls.
  5. Insert a small size of cheese inside each ball before frying.

VINEGAR DIPPING

Vinegar

ketchup

onion (finely chopped)

garlic (minced)

sugar

black pepper

Chopped Chili (optional)

  1. Simply mix all the ingredients well and adjust according to taste. Whoala! It’s ready!

IMG_1616

I don’t have a food chopper and I was kind of lazy to use our blender. Consequently, the ingredients were not minced and the balls turned out to have that big crunchy chunks that I didn’t like.

Tip: Blend or finely chop the ingredients to achieve that smooth-textured balls, so that all you’ll see is just the opaque white color.

IMG_1619

The balls were submerged in hot oil…  I got so excited when they started to float!

IMG_1621

Here’s the perfectly fried balls… Let’s eat!😀

IMG_1622

And yes, I made my own vinegar dipping!🙂 It went perfectly well with the fish balls.

IMG_1624

 SEE THE SURPRISE!?!🙂

I wasn’t really satisfied with the result of my experiment, because the fish I used wasn’t that tasty. Nonetheless, my husband and I still had happy tummies! Just a warning though,  never use cream dory fillet for making fish balls or else you will fail.

2 responses to “FILIPINO FISH BALL SURPRISE

Your opinion matters; Name & Comment will do

