DAY 89: A PHOTO IN YOUR ROOM

Rowel and I hang a picture of the temple in our room so that we will be constantly reminded of the covenants that we made in that holy house.

“whatsoever thou shalt bind on earth shall be bound in heaven: and whatsoever thou shalt loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven” (Matt 16:19).

 There were times that tempers flared at home. However, when I saw even in my peripheral vision the photo of the temple, my anger died down. I must admit, this did not happen all the time! However, I felt the guilt and embarrassment whenever I chose not to settle issues with my hubby right away – even after seeing that visual reminder. I loved what Elder Robert D. Hales said in one of his conference talks,  

“… an eternal bond doesn’t just happen as a result of sealing covenants we make in the temple. How we conduct ourselves in this life will determine what we will be in all the eternities to come. To receive the blessings of the sealing that our Heavenly Father has given to us, we have to keep the commandments and conduct ourselves in such a way that our families will want to live with us in the eternities. The family relationships we have here on this earth are important, but they are much more important for their effect on our families for generations in mortality and throughout all eternity.”

My husband and I are aware that we need to make a conscious effort in order for our family to enjoy a bit of Heaven on earth and be together forever even beyond the veil. The image of the temple helps us to keep an eye on that ultimate goal! :) 

One response to “DAY 89: A PHOTO IN YOUR ROOM

Your opinion matters; Name & Comment will do

