DAY 20: A PHOTO OF SOMETHING YOU LOVE (BB PILIPINAS 2012 Q&A)

Undeniably, I am fanatic about BEAUTY PAGEANTS! From a preposterous Ms. Gay  in our tiny community to the prestigious Ms. Universe on Television, I patronized them with equal enthusiasm! Every time the contestants graced the stage with their endearing intelligence, dazzling beauty and elegant sexiness, they really fascinate me.

Something I love???? Again,beauty pageants and here’s a sample photo!

http://www.google.com

Reference is made to the picture above: They’re the winners of the recently concluded Bb. Pilipinas 2012. Not that my opinion matters but, if you may, I would like to present my insight of what transpired at the coronation night on the 15th of April 2012.

Firstly, kudos to Ms. Iza Calzado, Ms Shamcey Supsup and Ms Venus Raj for doing an amazing job of hosting the event.  Neither am I a perfectionist teacher nor a cruel critic, but the rest of the hosts noticeably flunked! Nonetheless, bravo for the  effort!🙂 Secondly, I’m not questioning the judge’s decision but it really bothered me why Mary Jean Lastimosa (contestant number 9) didn’t win one of the crowns. In my viewpoint, she’s the epitome of a beauty queen: she’s got the body, the beauty and the brains.🙂 Anyhow, I must move on! Lastly, it’s not that I’m against Xian Lim but I was really annoyed that during the most intense-filled part of the competition, he kept on asking the ladies if they’re nervous, pressured or ready to answer the questions and yet his response seemed to ignore or build no connection with the contestants’ replies. Also, why did he always fail to address “His excellency” when introducing the ambassador judges? Oh well, it was his first time, so I  should have reservations with my comments. I love you Xian! hahaha

By the way, you might be interested to know who asked, what were the questions and how did the finalists answer them during the Q & A portion; I transcribed them for you!🙂 It was quite surprising that the contestants no longer say, “Thank you for that wonderful question”  as an opening remark when answering the judges. hahahaha What an awesome change! Anyhow, the list below is in accordance to the order that the finalists were called during the event:

Contestant No. 30, Sherlyn Gonzales

Judge: Ms. Precious Lara Quigaman

Question: Given the power to change a personal experience, what would you change and why?

AnswerWell, personally I believe that everything happens for a reason. I wouldn’t change anything about myself, about my past, because I believe that whatever my experience was, it molded me to become the person I am today. And denying what happened in my past would be denying what God wants me to be.

Contestant No. 16, Ms. Liezl Alcantara

 Judge: Mr. Olivier Gougeon

Question: How would  you define happiness?

Answer: I define happiness with your success because the true essence of success is not only being reaching your personal goals but sharing your happiness, inspiring others and making a difference in this world. That would be all thank you!

Contestant No. 7, Ms. Patricia Lae Ejercitado

Judge: Hon. Casimiro A. Ynares III

Question: What do you think is the biggest obstacle that you’ve had to overcome in your own personal life?

Answer: There was a time in my life that I doubted the existence of God. But then I realized that it was just God’s challenge for me. Now I know that He will always be there for me to pick me up and accept me when I commit mistakes and now I am pursuing intimacy with the Lord. 

Contestant No. 29, Ms. Analie Forbes (2nd runner up) 

Judge: H.E. Jorge Domecq

Question: Social media has forever changed the world… What disadvantages do you see in this new form of communication?

Answer: Communication helps us reach to our relatives, our loved ones that we truly love. And this love reminds me of a quote saying by Mother Teresa, “In this world you cannot do great things. You can only do small things with great love.” Thank you very much.

Contestant No. 26, Ms. Angelee Claudette Delos Reyes

Judge: H.E. Harry K. Thomas, Jr

Question: How would you show to the rest of the world that it’s more fun in the philippines?

Answer: I can show to the world that it’s more fun in the Philippines because I am a nurse by profession and I decided to stay in the Philippines because we have a very beautiful geographical setting which we can travel through land, air and seas. And I think that we have beautiful people and standing here in front of you right now is an example of the beautiful people of the Philippines.

Contestant No. 9, Ms. Mary Jean Lastimoso

Judge: Mr. Ashley Ferguson

Question: What do you think is the most pressing problem of the world today and how do you think you can help solve it as a beauty queen?

Answer: I believe that one of the most pressing problem(s) of the world today is that people with their curiosities may harm them. And I believe that though peripheral listening, we may be able to solve this problem. Curiosity in a right way of using it will lead us to knowing and that knowing could lead us to learning. 

Contestant No. 13, Ms. Katrina Jayne Dimaranan (Bb Pilipinas Tourism 2012) 

Judge: Mr. Richard Gomez

Question: If you would be  president for one day, what would you do?

Answer: If I was a president for one day of the Philippines, I will try to promote education between children because I think one of the problems of our country today is the lack of education among children. And I think with proper education, it is essential for us to have in order to grow someone with good morals, intellegence and happiness and optimism. 

Contestant No. 18, Ms. Janine Mari Tugonon (Bb. Pilipinas Universe 2012)

Judge: Mr. Jose Manuel Romualdez

Question: Many women nowadays forgoe a happy family life for a successful career. How do you feel about this?

Answer: Well, I believe that women have the right to choose between what they want. But for me, you ahve to go for what God had called you to do. Whatever it is between the two, you must do what is your purpose in this world. Just have a childlike faith and mature obedience then everything will go smooth. 

Contestant No. 15, Elaine Kay Moll (1st Runner up)

Judge: Hon. Cesar V. Purisima

Question: If there’s one thing you want to change in the Filipino culture what is it and why?

Answer: The thing that I want to change in the Filipino culture is the filipino time habit that we have because  it is very important to be on time and to appreciate and cooperate to everybody.

Contestant No. 14, Ms. Gina Joy Howell

Judge: Ms. Risa Hontiveros

Question: : If your future husband made you choose him and you career, what would you choose and why?

Answer: Of course, he have (has)  to be in where I want to be and he have(has)  to support wherever I’m happy. And if I’m happy with my career and if he loves me, then he will support  and cherish the love that we have so that I can be happy and we could be happy together. 

Contestant No. 8, Ms. Nicole Schmitz (BB  Pilipinas Internationl 2012

Judge: Mr. John Miller

Question: Which would you rather be, someone who is respected or someone who is loved and why?

Answer: I would rather be someone respected because that means you maintained your integrity, dignity and self-respect and that means in turn you will be loved by whoever matters and everyone around you.

Contestant No. 1, Ms. Karen Gallman

Judge: Mr. Phil Younghusband

Question: Can you give us your own definition of defeat and victory?

Answer: It’s not about winning, for me it’s not about winning, it’s about how you fought to win. In life, there’s times that we fail but you know we have to learn from it and just be dependent on God and God will help you. 

The Filipinas who were vying for the crown(s) didn’t have to be geniuses as it’s not a quiz bee. Nonetheless, they should strive, at least, NOT to give stale remarks!🙂 That would be all, thank you!

6 responses to “DAY 20: A PHOTO OF SOMETHING YOU LOVE (BB PILIPINAS 2012 Q&A)

  1. well this is realy amazing..eve if you are smart enough to join some competition like this, sometimes you really do not know how to say or express the idea what comes up on your mind…I experience this before when i joined the search i answered easily then later i realized what i was talking or my answer wasn’t related related to the question of the judge??heheh ma mental blocked ka talaga pag dating sa Q and A na…that’s why not enoungh that you are beutiful and smart,you should have enough self confidence ang strong personality..why is it you should have strong personality?because you have to accept all criticism after the pageant..Ok ba akong answer chang?hahaha mwaahhhh

    • hahahaha even your comments sound like the ones in the beauty pageant(s)!🙂 bongga!

      Oist, I didn’t know that you used to join such competition! Ikaw na!!!! hehehe

Your opinion matters; Name & Comment will do

