EARNEST DESIRE

Elder Dallin H. Oak’s message about desire truly has that sublime power that causes an individual to be moved. His words penetrated my soul and motivated me to ponder and act upon what I heard and learned. I was inspired to reassess my spirituality and reevaluate the desires of my heart especially when he said, “Desires dictate our priorities, priorities shape our choices, and choices determine our actions.” He continued, “The desires we act on determine our changing, our achieving, and our becoming.” A feeling of overwhelming guilt enveloped me as I realized that I fell short in most aspects of my life. I believe that my priorities need to be rectified and I should start by having righteous desires that will bring eternal reward!

I desire to become…

… a better wife to Rowel. My husband and I covenanted that we will live in such a way that our bond will continue even beyond the veil. If I will not aspire to become a better wife to Rowel and vice versa, we might not be able to achieve our eternal goal! I will keep the covenants that I made in the House of God!

…a benevolent disciple of Christ. I know that “it is by GRACE that we will be saved AFTER all that we can DO.” Hence, I must strive to become a good disciple of Christ and be worthy of His glory. Applying the atonement in my life and DOING the best I can should go hand in hand!

…a good daughter to both my earthly and Heavenly parents.”Obedience is the first law of Heaven.” I don’t want to disappoint my parents; thus, I will try my best not to give them heartache and make them proud of me. I will remember the good values that they taught me. On the hand, I want to be with my Heavenly Father again- someday! I will strive to become an obedient daughter  of Him – I need to keep His commandments and endure to the end!

…an effective teacher and a good leader.It is my hope that I will be able to touch the lives of the people that I serve, especially my Young Women! I want them to learn and follow Christ. I know that I can only do this if I will continually study God’s words and be an example to them.

… an amazing mother to my future children. It is my prayer that Heavenly Father will give me an opportunity to experience motherhood and be an instrument in fulfilling His plan for His spirit Children. I want to become a steward of God’s spirit sons and/or daughters. If i’d be given a chance, I will do the best I can to rear them in righteousness and in His ways.

Having those desires will make it easier for me to make righteous choices and ultimately set my priorities in accordance to the Lord’s expectations and standards. I want that His thoughts would be my thoughts… 

In a nutshell, it is my earnest desire that I will become worthy of a Celestial Glory!

How about you? What does your heart desire?🙂

This picture was taken from the LDS website

For the benefit of my non-LDS friends, Elder Oaks is a member of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints .

3 responses to “EARNEST DESIRE

Your opinion matters; Name & Comment will do

