FRIENDS FOR KEEPS: THAT’S WHAT WE ARE

Finding “genuine” individuals that we can call “angels without wings” or simply “friends” is no longer an easy quest nowadays. In fact, it’s becoming more and more difficult and to some extent- uncertain. Treating this as a trivial matter signifies imprudence and it invites unnecessary emotional risks. We need to remember that in this kind of pursuit, we are investing our precious emotions, striving-to-be-upright disposition and reputation, valued TRUST, firm loyalty, unconditional love and real care. Hence, it is important that we choose our friends wisely. They don’t have to be perfect, as no one on earth is, but they should be the kind of people who will influence us to achieve our utmost capacity and foster us to become the best that we can be!

Working outside my native land, the Philippines, for how many years has given me the opportunity to meet a number of people from all walks of life and diverse cultural background. My experiences in dealing with various individuals have taught me so much, especially in determining to whom I should only give my trust! I’ve learned that not all people who are kind in front of me are trustworthy or have good motives or intentions towards me. But I’ve also learned that judging others before even having the chance to get to know them is wrong and unfair. Unless PROVEN unworthy of our friendship and trust, we should allow others – with reservation of course – to demonstrate their offerings of familiarity and kindness. Who knows, it might be genuine! Nonetheless, DO IT WITH PRUDENCE!

I have always lived away from my immediate family since I entered college; truly, life has not been that easy thereafter. Battling homesickness has always been challenging… Without my friends, I don’t think I would be able to carry on!


I’m no longer alone in my journey especially in this unique place (the KSA); however, the importance of having good friends remains true, my mom taught me so. My husband and I consider our friends as part of our family. Like any of our family members, they (our friends) are our source of wisdom when we are blinded with ambiguous things, strength when we are down emotionally and spiritually, happiness when we are hurting and depressed and inspiration when we are thinking that quitting is an option. God has really been so good to us because He led us to those good-natured strangers who we got to know, developed camaraderie with and eventually turned out to be our “angels without wings.”

 

Rowel and I are really blessed to have friends who…

… love and care for us regardless of our imperfections

… can say both good and bad things about us when we are around

…celebrate with us when we achieve something instead of pulling us down because of jealousy or envy

…are honest and loyal to us

…love to discuss brilliant ideas and personal experiences with us

…share sound advices to us

…laugh with us

…reprimand us for our unacceptable actions

During my time of meditation, I can’t help myself from asking; “What did I do to deserve all these blessings?” I oftentimes feel inadequate! Nevertheless, at the end of each day, I never fail to express my heartfelt gratitude to my Heavenly Father for not only giving me a wonderful family and a loving husband but also great friends.

I treasure my old and long time friends as they have had significant contributions of who I am now. Truthfully, I am thankful that their loyalty and love never falter. The friendships that we built in the past remain strong despite the test of time and distance! I love you, my dear friends!

To all our newly found friends, we are thrilled to build more memories of lasting friendship with you guys. Thank you for being who you are! We love and cherish each one of you too!

“Friends for keeps” –that’s what we are indeed!

Acknowledgement:

Thanks…

Len Obcena for providing the pictures…

Bon Talampas for editing…

France Roxas, Khris Cruz and Duard Valle for the thoughts and suggestions….

23 responses to “FRIENDS FOR KEEPS: THAT’S WHAT WE ARE

  1. I think I have been quite good (if not great) in choosing my friends both lds and non-lds alike.. and yes, we do need them especially when we are far from our family. I’m glad to have met you and have become one of my treasured friends, ate Chang!🙂

  2. very true insights Chang!
    i am grateful that you are one of those few true friends that i have …
    ROCKSTARS are truly unbeatable …sa hirap at ginhawa … hindi nagawa ng ating mga detractors na masira ang pagsasamahan natin! (parang artista lang)
    laking pasasalamat ko na nabiyayaan ako ng mga totoong kaibigan at ang ROCKSTARS ay isa doon .. through thick and thin (pwede literal sa aking up and down weight … nyahahaha) at lungkot at ligaya … anjan kayo lagi na dumamay sakin at lalo nang makinig sa paulit ulit kong kwento (which i know, that you know na matagal akong makalimot sa mga bagay na ginawa sakin , maganda man o pangit) at sa aking pagiging makulit (which sometimes i feel i don’t act my age).
    salamat din at nabiyayaan ako ng mga “bagong-lumang” mga kaibigan na maluwag akong tinanggap sa kani-kanilang buhay at sa mga kaibigang nagbibigay sakin ng spiritual meaning of life which i will really treasure at wish na magtagal ang pagiging magkaibigan namin.
    mahirap makakuha ng kaibigan sa abroad … but i can say i am lucky to have my friends who i treat as my own family.
    geez … this is too long na … baka kung ano pa masabi ko dito …
    thanks chang .. for always being there for me … kahit ako lang minsan kwento ng kwento not giving you enough chance to say your piece … buti na lang nagka blog ka na … kaw naman ang bida … hahahahahaha!

    • I like long comments… It’s like giving others to also share their insights and all… It will not only benefit me but also my followers… we can always learn from each other by doing so….😀

      At naman! I love the rockstars talaga!!! They are our family here…🙂

      buti nga blessed tayo with good friends… and I will always be here for you ate to listen sa paulit ulit mong kwento and magtiis sa kakulitan mo… wahahhaha peace! love you and the rockstars family!!!

  3. hello chang, me and kuya Erwin so grateful to have you and Rowel as our friends here in KSA, grateful for the Gospel bec. of this we cross our path..Thanks For sharing your Love Guys to our 3 wonderful Kids…..God Bless!!!

  4. love you chang!!!!!!!!! very true…..u are soooooo inspiring…makes me love and treasure you more…thank u sooo much for endearing me as one of your true friends…:) miss you

    • chit-chit!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I so so miss you!!!! It’s been a while since the last time that we chatted! I know how busy you are and yet, you’re still able to read my blog and post a comment… hahahah I’m surprised!

      Thank you Chit-chit… I will see you soon! love you and thanks for being a good friend to us!🙂

  5. Thank you for treasuring us as your friends Chang. Love you Chang. I miss you. Napapareminisce ako ng times na magkasama pa tayo sa BYUH. I love how you love friends. You’re amazing! I’m grateful you are my friend🙂

    • Ate Dolour!!!! I really can’t forget you and kuya thelms… I can still vividly recall how it felt like to enter your home back in Hawaii… ‘Twas like I walked in the Temple of the Lord! No kidding! I’m really glad that I have known you guys! I love and miss you! see you soon!!!!😀 Can’t wait to see thea!

  6. my friends are my mirrors…(mo sulti na silag naay muta akong mata hehe..), can’t imagine life without a friend, i’m also glad and feel so good to have a variety of friends, from the work site, at home, my sporty friends, my diplomat friends, my want to be diplomat, and the best of all my ka inoman friends lwho are real like a brother to me till the last drop show, we argue, we fight, we don’t talk sometimes, we don’t bond always but thanks to facebook, we are connected, and thanks sis chang..for being my friend…

    • Bro, I like the idea of friends being our mirror!🙂 You are so brilliant!

      Thanks also for being a cool friend!!!!! you have lots of wisdom to share… basta manginginom! hahaha joke! peace!

  7. Everdearest friend – Chang!!!

    I am deeply filled and thrilled with your well written message – article, “FRIENDS FOR KEEPS: THAT’S WHAT WE ARE”. Certainly, you were inspired with the flow of the idea…which splendidly caused you to move your fingers on your computer keyboard. Indeed, I am delighted to be part of your circle of friendship. You and your sister, Tintin – “Twinky”, are one of my treasured friends… :)) !!!

    MAHALO…

    PS galing…galing2 talaga….:)) :))

      • Aloha dear Chang!!!! Talaga naman…’di ko na ma reach ang broad scope mo sa techno…and ur now @ twitter… multi- tech tasking ka na talaga…:):)…

  8. thanx chang for the friendship!!i still remember d chikahan galore when we were still in the nursing office before, gina agi agian ra ta sa nursing director wala tay pakialam, basta todo chika ug getting to know gihapon..haha..

    • hahaha…. mao jud bang!!!! Chikaness galore by hook or by crook! hahahaha

      Oist, sexy jud kaayo name nimo noh? name palang… gwapa na kaayo!!!😀

  9. tnx sis for being a good friend to me! maremember nko atong bonding b4 as in makamiss jud.bisag dugay n ta wla nagkita ikaw gihapon akong gusto n mabestfriend.your kindness mao gyud n akong dili malimtan.kabalo b ka n kung ikaw ako makaistorya feeling nko mabuutan ko.hehe….
    bisag asa pag mag chika na about friends, si Chang2x daun ako ipanghambog.maremember nko imo favorite song ba “love is all that matters faithful and forever” .basta friends forever ok? love you!

    • I’m super touched sa imong comment Sis! You know, you are one of the few people that my dad really remembers and that only means constant jud ta mag-uban before and cge gihapon ko ug kwento about you and our friendship! I always remember your birthday and everything! I miss and love you Jay! Ikaw pud ang akong best buddy since elementary!🙂

  10. hi chang…nakkicomment narin ako kasi i consider you as one of my good*close friends..you remain humble kahit ibang level na ang narating mo sa buhay…and i adore you for that…keep up the good work chang..i know marami pang darating(kaibigan) sa buhay natin..ang iba totoo ang iba nagkukunwari pero ang mahalaga naging totoo tayo sa kanila…jeje…thank you & i love you….mwahh

    • Sheryl: Thank you for the friendship and for always being available whenever I need someone to chat with when I’m abroad or to accompany me when I’m in the Philippines.😀

      You’re always sweet and kind she!😀 Thanks for being a true friend… See yah next year.. miss and love yah! mwah

Your opinion matters; Name & Comment will do

